Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hummus is all the rage right now. Me, I’m still learning to like it. I really want to like it, I just haven’t made or had one yet that I’ve enjoyed. Until now. When I saw this recipe I knew it was really the only shot hummus and I had. I couldn’t keep trying something and wasting tons of chickpeas in the process. I also figured this would possibly work on my daughter as well.

This is such a great treat that has a nice hint of sweet, but isn’t overwhelming. It’s also high in fiber and low in calories. Who doesn’t like that? This would make a perfect appetizer for Thanksgiving if you are still looking for something. You wouldn’t sacrifice flavor and you’d sneak a little healthy in there while you’re at it!

Pumpkin Hummus

Ingredients

  • 15 oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup tahini or raw cashew
  • 1 Tbsp sunflower oil or canola oil
  • 3 Tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In a food process, combine all of the ingredients and blend until smooth.

Serve with raw vegetables, pita, or crackers.

Yields 12 servings (1/4 cup each)

Nutriontal Information

Per serving: 93 calories, 4.3g fat, 0 mg. cholesterol, 146mg. sodium, 11.6g. carbohydrates, 4.6 g. fiber, 3.1g. protein.

Source: As seen on PreventionRD, originally from The Edible Perspective