Tags

I’m always looking for new, fast ideas for cooking fish. My husband doesn’t like seafood so I usually cook it after I make my daughter and he dinner, or when we’re in a rush and we each make our own meals. Most are familiar with chicken piccata, but why not give this recipe a try? I find it cooks up even quicker than chicken, is less of a mess, and really gives the fish a nice taste. Even my daughter agrees. There is something to that tart lemon taste and those briny capers! You can substitute with any flaky white fish,like flounder or sole. Dinner in less than 30 minutes? Try dinner in around 5 minutes!

Tilapia Piccata

Printer Friendly

Ingredients

  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2 6 oz Tilapia fillets
  • 2 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbs drained capers, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp butter

Sprinkle fillets with salt and pepper. Dredge fish in flour. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish to pan and cook 1 1/2 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.

Add wine, lemon juice, and capers to the pan. Cook for 1 minute. Add butter to pan, stirring until butter melts. Remove fish and sauce from pan.

Adapted from Cooking Light, March 2008