Tags

,

I saw this recipe back when I was trying to eat healthier and broaden my horizons. I hadn’t given Brussel sprouts a fair chance since childhood and this recipe sounded very light and clean, so I figured I’d give it a try. I liked the shredding concept, because it might fool the hubby’s eye and throw him off the Brussel sprout track!

It didn’t fool him, he still didn’t care for the cabbage taste, but  I think the lemon added a freshness to the Brussel sprouts and have made smaller portions of the recipe for myself since.

Lemony Shredded Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 pounds Brussel sprouts
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high . Add Brussels sprouts and 2 Tablespoons of water; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp-tender, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in lemon juice.

Source: Martha Stewart Living