Tags

, ,

I first made peppermint bark a few years ago when I first met my husband. I put it out at a party and no one would touch it. Finally, a cousin ate some and now it’s a requested favorite during the holidays. My husband , who doesn’t like white chocolate, even requests it for his July birthday! This recipe is so easy and I prefer it to others that combine chocolate with white chocolate.

Peppermint Bark

Print Friendly

2 pounds white chocolate, chopped into half-inch pieces (or white choc. chips will work)

12 large candy canes

1/2 tsp peppermint extract

parchment paper

Line an 11 x 17 inch cookie sheet with parchment paper. In the top of a double boiler, melt white chocolate, stirring often.

With a meat pounder smash candy canes into small bits. Stir pieces of candy cane and peppermint extract into the melted chocolate. Remove from heat and pour mixture onto prepared baking sheet; spread evenly. Refrigerate until firm (25 to 30 minutes). Break into pieces and serve. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator up to one week.

Makes 2.5 pounds